It’s that time of year again and once NHL Playoffs come to a close, the 2016 NHL Awards will take place in Las Vegas. On June 22nd, Will Arnett and this season’s top players will take the stage at the Joint inside the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino.

“I’m excited to host the 2016 NHL Awards because we all know in 2017 I’ll be too busy celebrating the Leafs winning the Stanley Cup®,” said Arnett in a statement released from the NHL.

This year will be the first year that the NHL Awards will be hosted at the Hard Rock Hotel. The event has previously been held at the Palms Hotel (2009-2011), Encore at Wynn Las Vegas (2012, 2014) and the MGM Grand (2015). A successful partnership between the National Hockey League and the city of Las Vegas has continued on for years and they anticipate it for years to come. This will be their seventh year in partnership.

“We look forward to being back in Las Vegas, which has been an ideal destination for our NHL Awards celebration,” said Steve Mayer, NHL Executive Vice President and Executive Producer of Programming and Creative Development per the NHL. “The end of June marks a special time on the NHL calendar for our players and their families, fans, partners as well as our Clubs. By adding the talents of Will Arnett and a new, exciting setting at the The Joint at Hard Rock Hotel, the League hopes to make this year’s show the best one ever.”

The finalists for the awards are to be announced each day beginning on April 27th with the Vezina Trophy. The list below are the dates that each categories finalists will be announced.

Wednesday, April 27

Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)

Thursday, April 28

Selke Trophy (forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game)

Friday, April 29

Norris Trophy (top defenseman)

Saturday, April 30

Lady Byng Trophy (player best combining sportsmanship and ability)

Sunday, May 1

Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)

Monday, May 2

Calder Trophy (top rookie)

Tuesday, May 3

NHL Foundation Player Award (community service)

Wednesday, May 4

Mark Messier Leadership Award

Thursday, May 5

Jack Adams Award (top head coach)

Friday, May 6

Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players)

Saturday, May 7

Hart Trophy (most valuable player to his team)

Awards that have already been announced such as the Art Ross Trophy for the League’s scoring champion (going to the Chicago Blackhawks, Patrick Kane) will be recognized. Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals will be recognized for winning his sixth career Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy (most goals scored), along with both Anaheim Ducks goaltenders Frederik Andersen and John Gibson for their William M. Jennings Trophy (allowing fewest goals) win.

Further details on the event will be released in the upcoming weeks.

Sports and fashion are Allison's true passions. She grew up in the household of a professional athlete, and a family blessed with true athletic talent. She, on the other hand, must have been absent on the day that sport skills were passed out! Although, she does possess a zeal that most girls do not have for sports of all kinds, hockey has consumed her life in the most unexplainable way. Sports are such an integral part of who she is, and she is on journey of becoming a part of a professional sports organization. Growing up minutes from the Las Vegas Strip didn't leave Allison with many options for being a sports fan.Spending the majority of her summers on the East Coast, Allison became a fan of all things Boston, and her heart will always have a special place for the city (especially the Bruins). Allison currently is an employee of the Arizona Coyotes and falls more in love with the game each and every day. You can follow Allison on Twitter: @Alli_Galllagher and you can contact her by Email:


Leave a Reply