(Photo: Choate Rosemary Hall Youtube)

The Canadian Women’s Hockey League presented its annual awards last night to kick off the Clarkson Cup playoffs and recognize outstanding players and coaches in the league.

Gala Award Winners were:

Humanitarian Award – Lois Mitchell (CWHL Governor and Order of Canada member)

Coach of the Year  – Dany Brunet (Montreal Stars head coach)

Rookie of the YearBrianna Decker (Boston Blades forward with 32 points in 12 games)

Goaltender of the YearCharline Labonté (Montreal Stars goaltender with 1.89 goals against average and .927 save percentage)

Defenceman of the YearTara Watchorn (Boston Blades blue-liner with 20 points in 21 games)

Angela James Bowl – Rebecca Johnston (Calgary Inferno forward with 37 points in 24 games)

Most Valuable PlayerRebecca Johnston (two-time Olympic gold medalist)

Chairman’s trophy – Boston Blades (regular season champions with 35 points)

“We are so incredibly proud of all of our award winners, but also of each and every player, coach, sponsor, supporter and volunteer who has helped build our league into what it is today,” CWHL commissioner Brenda Andress said in a press release. “Our organization continues to get bigger and better, both on and off the ice, thanks to everyone involved.”

Clarkson Cup playoff games continue today with the Boston Blades hosting the Toronto Furies at 11:30 a.m. and the Calgary Inferno hosting the Montreal Stars at 3:30 p.m., each in game two of a three-game playoff series.

The Toronto Furies are looking to re-claim the Clarkson Cup, but will have to get through regular season champs the Boston Blades to do it. The Blades won cup two years ago, the Montreal Stars are looking to add a fourth cup win to their organization. The Calgary Inferno has never won the Clarkson Cup.

Live streaming packages for the games are available here.

The CWHL is the premier, professionally-run women’s hockey league in the world. It enables elite female hockey players to pursue their dreams of competing at the highest level possible, while enhancing the lives of others through exceptional athleticism, entertainment and motivation. The league is centrally funded, with all participating teams in the CWHL receiving equal access to financial support and given the same opportunities to succeed.

Currently the CWHL consists of five teams: the Toronto Furies, Boston Blades, Brampton Thunder, Calgary Inferno and Montreal Stars. 

A college hockey fan and hockey player, Krista Patronick decided to pursue a career in sports management after earning a degree in English from the University of Massachusetts at Lowell in 2009 and spending three years in journalism. She received her Master's of Sports Management from Southern New Hampshire University in 2013. After realizing she was meant to work in the hockey world, Krista went to work in any press box she could get into. She kept statistics, wrote shot charts, tweeted and live-blogged her way to a job as an operations coordinator and marketing director at The Hockey Academy in Hudson, N.H. She works with the company's two junior teams, adult hockey players, and youth teams. Krista is a goalie and enjoys playing hockey in her spare time. She is a die-hard Bruins and River Hawks hockey fan. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram: @KristaPatronick


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.