0 868
Clarkson Cup

(photo: cwhl.ca)

The Canadian Women’s Hockey League held their annual awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 18 at the Hilton Toronto-Markham Suites Conference Centre and Spa. The event served the dual purpose of celebrating the athletes whose performances have stood out throughout the 2013-2014 season and kicking off the start of the CWHL’s playoff series for the Clarkson Cup and the title of champion.

The event included remarks from Prime Minister Stephen Harper and businesswoman Arlene Dickenson.

Last night’s winners are as follows:

  • Chairman’s Trophy (awarded to the top team)The Montreal Stars (42 points in the 2013-14 season)
  • Humanitarian AwardCassie Campbell Pascall
  • Angela James BowlAnn-Sophie Bettez, Montreal Stars (with 40 points for regular season scoring title)
  • Coach of the YearSommer West, Toronto Furies
  • Rookie of the YearJillian Dempsey, Boston Blades (with 28 points)
  • Goaltender of the YearDelayne Brian, Calgary Inferno
  • Defenceman of the YearCathy Chartrand, Montreal Stars (with 30 points)
  • Most Valuable Player – Ann-Sophie Bettez, Montreal Stars

You can follow the progress of the Clarkson Cup on Twitter or online streaming by The Streaming Sports Network.

Molly is not an athlete. She quickly got used to winning the “Best Smile” award at her family's Summer Olympics (an award made up especially for her by her grandmother, who felt bad that she never won anything else). But as they say, "Those who cannot do, write about it from the sidelines and provide orange slices at half time."



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.